Is meteor appropriate for an app where security is critical?

I’m thinking of writing a password management app. Is Mongodb secure enough for such sensitive data? If I encrypt all the data in the database using a master password and use salt to further obfuscate, will the salt values be visible within the meteor code? (Is there a way to encrypt meteor code and/or compile the script?)

Maybe you can try something like this: https://github.com/talos-code/mylar

Wow! Thanks for the link! That looks pretty cool but I’m kind of worried about the whole “experimental” aspect. There’s a lot of disclaimers in there. I’ll look into it, though.

1 Like

When you compile your script, you can keep all your keys on the server. Then it would be secure.

Thanks for the response, ramez! I’m a novice and don’t fully understand exactly what that looks like/means (I’m coming from a php background and I’ve really never done much client-side development) but…

1. Won’t I have to supply database login credentials? And couldn’t someone look at my meteor code to get the db username and password then login to the server and see everything in the database? And…
  2. It won’t be visible in (e.g.) the developer console? And…

I suspect that maybe this is all covered by “Methods” which I’ve read about in the tutorial but haven’t really used yet so I don’t fully grasp the concept. Which brings me to…
3) Does this mean that my app will be useless/non-functional without an internet connection?

Right, so if you want to hide your encryption key, the only secure way is on the server. If you want the key to be browser side, it will be exposed. Anything client side is hackable (even local password managers, they just make it a bit harder)

@quantiumtech what exactly do you mean with a password manager? What would you store on the client and what would you store on the server? Also: How should the user be able to get the password to enter for example a login form?