Is meteor capable for handling high user load?

Hi there,

i ve been working with meteor for a couple of weeks and i quite like the way development takes place. (FE-BE coding in the same enviroment, etc…)

I ve been working on a realtime trading engine for fabrics (cotton, silk, etc.) and yarn, threads, etc…
My client is a company from north africa which wants to test this as a prototype. So the system should be able to handle thousands if not ten-thousands of user requests per second. Is meteor capable of handling this and will mongoDB be sufficient for this purpose? And how about scaling the application? I ve read a lot about scaling issues with meteor.

Now i ve come a point where i am not sure if i should stick to meteor or move to a combination like react/graph/relay which is known to be capable of handling “high load”. I am still new to meteor so i hope somebody from you has experience with high-load projects. I don’t want to launch this project with meteor and than have to redesign and recode everything with other libs/frameworks.

What would you do in my case?

thanks in advance for your time,
krm

Using GraphQL/Apollo with Meteor and React is possible right now and will give you much more predictable scaling than Meteor’s inbuilt MongoDB livequery - and I would suggest with less boilerplate and configuration than other framework solutions.

2 Likes

@robfallows,

React is a view layer which is (most likely) client rendered, so not sure why it would scale better with React vs other views (e.g. Blaze or Angular etc.)

Why would Apollo scale better than the current MongoDB implementation?

3 Likes

I agree @ramez. Could you please clarify @robfallows. I am also not able to get your point.

tl;dr