Is meteor the right choice for my project?

Hi folks,

I’ve been working in web technologies for like 3 years but I’ve never worked in any of the javascript frameworks so I’m new for this area. I’ve expertise in core PHP and it’s frameworks.

I’ve to make a project which is almost like TaskRabit (https://www.taskrabbit.com/). The project will be developed in four phases:

1. Admin Panel for the site (Back-end)
  2. Website (Front-end)
  3. Writing services for smart phone apps
  4. Android+IOS app

I have read about node js, Express and Hapi. I have some idea about each one of these and meteor also that Node is suitable for I/O bound projects. My questions are:

1. Is it possible to make this project in meteor? If no, then what JavaScript frameworks would be sufficient enough to deal with this kind of projects? or is it a right choice to make such a project in any of these JavaScript frameworks?

2. I’ve been using relational databases with Php but is it possible to manage the data of such project in a NoSql database like mono db?

Looking forward for your response.
Happy Coding :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hello,

This is Sanjay Kumar from Deligence Technologies. We were working in PHP/MySQL from years and from last 1.5 years we started working with Meteor and I can assure you that Meteor will be a good choice for your project.

You can use MongoDB for this type of project. It won’t be an issue.

Regards,

1 Like

Thanks a lot, Sanjay.

Can you tell me if there are any other technical issues, I should be more cencerned about?
and secondly is this project also feasible to made in any other javascript frameworks like express?

1 Like
  1. You will have no problem creating that kind of project in Meteor. And, if you are like me, the Javascript world will be a breath of fresh air after PHP.