Is there a good Tutorial on how to create an Admin Panel in Meteor?

Hi, Im new to Meteor. I have already followed some tutorials and books to learn the basics of Meteor. But is there a good tutorial on how to create an admin panel which is restricted to the normal users?

Thanks in advance :smile:

Easier than you’d think

Start by using a library like alanning:roles to put users in roles. Eg:

Meteor.startup(function () {
  const admins = ['admin@admin.org', 'admin2@admin.org'].map(email => Accounts.findUserByEmail(email));
  Roles.addUsersToRoles(admins, 'admin', Roles.GLOBAL_GROUP);
});

Here’s a small catch: They can render the admin page, but since meteor is data driven, you just publish information to the admins. They may render the page, but they won’t have any information.

Meteor.publish('adminData', function () {
  if (Roles.userIsInRole(this.userId, 'admin', Roles.GLOBAL_GROUP)) {
    return SecretData.find();
  } else {
    this.error(new Meteor.Error(403, "Access Denied"));
  }
});
3 Likes

Cool! Thats’s great news. But according to what I understand, meteor loads all the files at first. But what if we want to stop loading the admin related js and html files from loading to normal users? Is it possible to do this?

Also is it possible to restrict a specific route and all it’s sub routes to normal users? I’m planning to use the FlowRouter.

You can’t, really, you just restrict the data that they receive and what they can do.

Sure, they can render the admin page, but you can just make it not show anything of value. Or even better, make an access denied screen.

template(name="Admin")
  if isInRole 'admin'
    // your template data here
  else
    h1 Invalid Permissions.

I use the Roles package, and have added a few layers of security based around that.