Issues with Publish and Subscribe

Hi there,

I am trying to figure out how I can connect my Meteor application to an external MongoDB.

I’m very new to Meteor and am more of a Firebase person so please bear with me.

So far I have tried the following:

Upon running my application locally I run the following command…

MONGO_URL="<My Mongo URL Here>" meteor

… And within my application I had the following client side code…

Demo = new Mongo.Collection('demo');

This failed to create the collection in my specified MongoDB URL. Rather, I believe, it just created it in Meteor’s mini mongo?

So I then tried deploying the application to Meteor and pointed the application to my settings.json file which looks like so…

{
  "galaxy.meteor.com": {
    "env": {
      "MONGO_URL": "<My Mongo URL Here>"
    }
  }
}

… And again upon running the application it fails to create the collection in my specified MongoDB.

So I turned my attention to a question found here…

https://forums.meteor.com/t/how-to-view-collection-contents-using-console-log/?source_topic_id=37984

… And I have attempted to do a similar thing with subscribe and publish.

I created a folder called server and within it a file called main.js which contained the following:

const Tasks = new Mongo.Collection('tasks');

Tasks.insert({_id: 'my-todo'});

if (Meteor.isServer) {
  // This code only runs on the server
  Meteor.publish('tasks', function() {
    return Tasks.find();
  });
}

Within my application on the client side I added the following code to my JS file:

if (Meteor.isClient) {
  Meteor.subscribe('tasks');
}

According to the help forum this should work - I think… I’m not sure:\

It works partially - The tasks collection is created in my specified Mongo URL and the task is inserted into it.

However, I don’t know how to display this now on the client side.

Does any body know how I now display this data into my application?

Many thanks,

G