JavaScript minification and React

I need to traverse over a set of child elements and find out the class type of each child element. In development I can do it easily over child.constructor.name or over child.type.name. But in production all names are uglifyed (like described here https://github.com/facebook/react-devtools/issues/239) and I don’t know what to do about this. Simply don’t use minifiers package is not a option :slight_smile:

Is there a way in Meteor to whitelist particular attributes for uglifyjs? Or some other minifier packages that working correctly with react?

Thank you

I’m curious why you need to do this traversal - maybe there is a better way?

Hi sashko. Yes maybe there is a better way because I’m new to React. What I am trying to do, is to pass properties to the child elements. But only to children from specific type. An example look like this:

<Form>
  <Email name="myEmail" />
  <Button text="Submit" />
</Form>

I have a Form component as a parent and different input types as its children. The render method from the Form component look like this:

render() {
  let self = this;
  let childs = '';
  if (self.props.children.length > 0) {
    childs = self.props.children.map(function(child, i) {
      if (child.type && child.type.name && self.supportedTypes.indexOf(child.type.name) > -1){
        return React.cloneElement(child, {
          key: 'formInput'+i,
          registerElement: self.registerElement.bind(self),
          unregisterElement: self.unregisterElement.bind(self)
        });
      } else {
        return child;
      }
    });
  } else {
    childs = self.props.children;
  }

return (
    <form onSubmit={ self.handleSubmit.bind(self) }>
      {childs}
    </form>
  );
}