Launching OneFamily, a social network for Families and a family discovery tool

I am proud to announce that after a lot of hard work, I launched oneFami.ly in December and the response has been great so far.

oneFami.ly is a free social network for families where you can create Family tree, write family history and biographies of your ancestors. You can also upload pictures of historical documents, say old photos, birth/marriage certificates, newspaper clippings, awards etc.

oneFami.ly also helps you discover currently living distant relatives through matching ancestor profiles.

The app uses Meteor, React, Redux and D3.

A little something about me - Three years ago when I got the idea, I had no programming experience, a complete noob. After google research, I started with Ruby on Rails. Rails was too much magic and I couldn’t get a handle on how the magic happened. I was also overwhelmed with learning - CSS, HTML, database concepts, Linux, Terminal, JS - all at the same time.

Within a few months, I discovered Meteor. The fact that everything was wired in Meteor and I had to think just in terms of one language (JS) was godsend to a noob like me. I took the DiscoverMeteor tutorial. Then I created Telescope from scratch to get comfortable with my new skills. That gave me the confidence and finally I started on oneFami.ly in Jan, 2016. It took me 11 months to launch the first version.

I would like to greatly thanks MDG for creating Meteor, a framework so easy that can help a complete noob like me to get started with web technology. I would also like to thank @sacha and @tmeasday for creating a highly-easy-to-read DiscoverMeteor book, @arunoda for his immense contribution to the community and numerous other package authors. @arunoda, it’s sad to see you go.

I would also like to thank everybody in the Meteor Forum. I have been a longtime lurker here and have learnt a great deal through your discussions.