Learning Vue vs React

Hi, I know React has tighter Meteor support but also a steeper learning curve than Vue. How significant is this drawback if going the Vue route? Which front end layer would you recommend a newbie learn?

The difficulty level of Vue is the same as Blaze, but itā€™s potential is much closer to React. Give both Vue and React two days of a try and you will see for yourself which one is for you.

For newbies Iā€™d personally recommend going with Vue, butā€¦ what kind of a newbie are you? A programming newbie? Javascript newbie? Vue/React newbie?

1 Like

React might have a steeper learning curve but itā€™s just JS classes with a very well designed APIs and a mature ecosystem. Furthermore it has an official integration with Meteor.

I started learning Meteor using Blaze and when I felt comfortable with framework ( I suggest going through the Meteor Guide carefully) I started playing with React, that path worked well with me. I think Blaze is great for smaller size apps or if you want create a quick prototype but React really shines at managing the view layer complexity when the app gets larger.

I didnā€™t go Vue path because it seems like it wants to be both Blaze and React at the same time, and also due to the lack of official integration with Meteor although I think Akryum/vue-meteor is doing great in making this happen.

I hope that helps.

2 Likes

Hi, Iā€™ve made a few websites and javascript do dads like quizzes and sliders. So pretty new in general

Iā€™d also suggest React, itā€™s more mature on everything. So itā€™ll be easier to get articles, help and all the stuff you need.

I agree itā€™s easier to get help with React for the Meteor integration part. But most of the issues you can run into are for the ā€œVue + Blazeā€ use case which I wouldnā€™t personally bother with and you as a new guy, definitely wonā€™t have to. The rest of the integration is actually easier than with React, even if itā€™s not an official one.