Massive traffic spike and Meteor deployment options

I’ve just enjoyed reading this post over at r/webdev.

I have little experience with devOps and deployment but this got me curious and I wondered whether anyone here with more experience could post some thoughts on how to deal with this situation when using Meteor.

I’m a total newbie here, but because deployed Meteor is usually just a node app, my first naive direction of thinking would be: anything that allows you to cluster and scale node processes, e.g. forever or PM2?

And then using a bunch of containers with the above clustering, which the cloud hosting provider can scale up for you automatically, I would think.

As a response to the first reply and OP, I’ve done some reasearch on this. At the moment, I’ve got 5 meteor applications deployed to production, none of which has been required to scale vertically - but I have prepared for such a case and can easily scale them whenever needed.

My production environment consist a lot of what most people call “buzzword technology”, but holy shit it works damn well. It takes a lot of time to set up an environment like this, but doing so allows me to be prepared for whatever happens. I also run roughly 15 standard MEAN-stack applications on the same servers as these Meteor applications, but I’m not going to get into those.

#Production environment:
###Servers

• 2 servers all located in the RBX OVH Datacenter:
    • core1 - I host all applications on this server, but I also have an Aerospike and the MongoDB instance here due to it being powered by SSD. There’s an Nginx proxy as well which I will get into later. This server also runs all the CI.
      • CPU: Intel Xeon E3-1245v2 @ 3.4GHz+ 4c/8t
      • RAM: 32GB ECC
      • Storage: 3 x 120GB SSD, RAID disabled
      • Network: 250Mbps unmetered with 1Gbit network port
    • core2 - Hosts PostgreSQL, Redis and holds all backups.
      • CPU: Intel Xeon W3520 @ 2.66GHz+ 4c/8t
      • RAM: 32GB ECC