Meteor 1.3 + react + reactRouter best practices

Hi All,

DISCLAIMER: this is going to be a long question, I apologize.
I am new to meteor, so I also apologize if the questions are a bit naive.
I have some troubles figuring out the best way to handle data in conjunction with react and react router.
Last disclaimer: I manage to achieve the kind of result that I need but this is not a question about how to simply achieve the result, is a question trying to understand what are the best practices that I should follow.

So far I understood that one pattern is to have the router point to root components that use createContainer to fetch some data and pass it to children components. I have seen this pattern in the react todoList on github (https://github.com/meteor/todos/tree/react) and mentioned in the guide and on the forums as well.

However I have several things that are not really clear in my mind especially regarding the connection between routes, RootContainers (the components that implement createContainer) and presentational components. They are all related to each other, so more than an answer question by question I would also appreciate if somebody can give me a generic high level overview of how an application components hierarchy and routes should be setup to have the best results in terms of code reuse, performance, maintanability, etc.