Meteor agnostic to frontend - possible? Thinking out loud

As a frontend/backend developer I often like to explore multiple platforms. I fell in love with Angular (1), but am not doing very well with becoming super well versed with v2 coming down the line. Haven’t been able to sink my teeth into React (lack of opportunity/hard request to use THAT platform by a client, not sure). But I have, for example, built out some really cool things with Angular Light (angularlight.org) and I am really liking http://aurelia.io.

What I’ve loved about Meteor… things that really stand out from me is reactivity (let’s say, the abstract idea of it), Meteor Methods, and above all – the easy development build system. Anything else already gets pertty close to the specifics of the view layer (e.g. using Blaze or using Meteor Angular) or DB specifics.

Then, I also looked at RethinkDb and loved it and thought how cool it would be if I could manipulate the Db via Meteor methods on the server - even if just directly via the API client they provide. The same if we wanted to use Arangodb, Horizon.io as the server or whatever.

I have wondered:

• What would it take to I build a Meteor app but using Horizon.io? We know “back-ends” are a bit crappy in Meteor (and probably difficult to create and implement with the consistently changing landscape), for example Horizon looks and works great (ESPECIALLY after they incorporate support for files). Same, what if I wanted to use Google App Console server / tools (is that the name? not sure…) via their API? This would mean there’s no “Meteor Server”, but you’re building & developing the entire app with Meteor’s awesome build tools.