Meteor Auto Server Refresh

Hello, I am very new to meteor. Anytime I hit the save button from my text editor, the app from my browser takes average of 10-15 seconds to refresh. I do not have a lot of packages installed but this keeps happening. what could be the possible cause and how do I correct it?

Packages actually affect your build time relatively little because meteor is smart about only rebuilding specific packages that change. If you application code itself is starting to grow, this can cause your build times to start to escalate. I believe there are some performance improvements coming to the build process in 1.2, but until then breaking your app into packages can be very effective to cut build times down to 3-5 seconds

1 Like

Thanks for your response but my codes are still very minimal. Could the way I structure my app affect the load time? I mean I have multiple folders as am trying to keep things as separated as possible.

hi Henryc, I know what you mean. each time u submit something from the forms, the page refresh isn’t it?? well I always put “return false;” in the end of my events function. return false will make the page not refreshing after you hit the submit button or save button.

Hope this will help :smiley:

Oh this solves one half of the problem but the real problem is this. I make some little changes to my code and hit cntl S, it takes about 15 seconds for meteor server to restart/refresh. This can be very frustrating so am wondering if there is a way around this?

All files you change and are on top level rebuild whole server.
Put your client side files in client folder and it will just refresh client without rebuilding server side.

And if you bundle your stable part of code into packages, also the client refresh times should improve.