Meteor backend to two completely different app views

I’m developing a consumer and merchant management app with two extremely different views. They both though need to share the same database. I’m building both the apps using ionic+cordova so can I use a single meteor backend for both. I’m a newbie so I was planning on creating two different roles but is this approach correct. I mean for vastly different views a bunch of (IsinRole.customer or IsinRole.merchant may lead to an ugly code?)

Could someone please help me, in how should I plan it?

PS: Any existing open source usage of multiple roles and views would be appreciated.

1 Like

Is there a problem with you just using a separate layout if the user is management?

I also thought the same but I don’t want the merchant account to ever login on the customer app. Can I stop this using the roles?

@gutsyninja Can you post an update ? I too need to keep two distinct app views (normal -vs- admin) where both share same database yet different CSS structure , desire to avoid bloat of sending admin code down to normal enduser etc … thanks

1 Like

Hi guys, I actually just designed two apps that do this.

Theoretically, you can write a single app and create a bunch of conditional checks like:

if (user.isLoggedInAsAdmin){
  //something
}

but this will vastly increase the complexity of your code. I suggest having two different apps:

cd /path/to/customerApp && meteor create customerApp
cd /path/to/adminApp && meteor create adminApp

Basically, you can write two apps which connect to the same database. All you need to do is set the MONGO_URL and MONGO_OPLOG_URL to the same value. These can be set in your environment.

Both apps are standalone and contain two completely different clients.

2 Likes