Meteor – First impressions

First, some background: I am a Front End Developer working mostly with Node, with build tools like Gulp/Grunt/Broccoli, and obviously with JS and SASS.

In the last few days I have been evaluating Meteor for a personal project of mine, a simple app featuring HTML5 video games, a blog section and a contact form page. The basic idea would be to update and display a game leaderboard in real time and also save the game state in the mongoDB.

I haven’t actually wrote more than 15 lines of code till now, mostly because I have been investigating if it is worth spending my time learning Meteor. So, I am writing mostly to give the Meteor Community my feedback and also to seek advice.

Things I liked so far
I love the idea of being able to write Isomorphic client/server side code in the language I am most familiar with, and being able to easily exchange data between client and server. AFAIK this is by far the best feature of Meteor, and my main reason to give it a try (otherwise I could use any robust CMS based on Laravel).

I like the Blaze UI library, it is simple and straightforward. I believe that it is more than enough for my needs, React or Angular would probably be way too heavy (I like Riot though).

Meteor community is amazing. I can see that thousands of packages have been already created and the forum is one of the most active and friendly I’ve ever seen. This is a rather important point because I don’t expect Meteor to vanish into thin air anytime soon.

I can not ignore the fact that Meteor is a full-stack framework that combines several open source technologies and works out of the box. I can just type meteor create <path> and meteor and I am ready to code. The alternatives don’t look that promising.

Things I didn’t like