Meteor framework review

Hey folks!

I’ve just written a review of the Meteor framework. I’ve been using it for the past several years, and I just thought I’d share my thoughts and ideas on it.

https://www.asad.pw/meteor-framework-review/

I’d love to open a dialogue about the current state of Meteor and ofcourse if I got something wrong please feel free to point it out so I can correct it.

3 Likes

That’s comparing apples with oranges, just remove the pub/sub and convert them to methods and you’ll end with similar scaling characteristics, real-time systems are harder to scale

I heard this statement before, back when NoSQL was being hyped, people were saying that tables are not the right structures and in fact there is truth to that, that’s why ORM was a big industry, you’ve a whole layer convert objects and their relations to tables. I worked in both, I prefer NoSql, I worked with google bigtable and it was a relief from the SQL tables.

I don’t understand how this should part of a framework, can you refer me to a NodeJS framework that does search out of the box?

5 Likes

An interesting read. I’ve been using meteor for about 4 years now, and while I do have issues with a few meteor pieces, I don’t agree with many of your negative points:

1. regarding dynamic imports, you only need to refactor your code if you didnt build it this way to start with, so migrating from a 1.2 app does require effort, but starting a new app is pretty simple. I would like to see better documentation of using dynamic imports with routers, or at least some best practice info here. What we’re doing works, but I’ve no idea if it is the right approach.