Meteor package system doubts

Guys, I’m new to meteor and after I started using packages I got confused.
Tried to search the forum and the documentation but found nothing.

There are some packages that bundle up some files you can change.
Like this one: https://atmospherejs.com/semantic/ui
It says that you can change the files inside “/site” for example.
Now is when the fuzzy part comes in.

This files are in the AppData folder right?
Something like this:

C:\Users\MyUser\AppData\Local.meteor\packages\semantic_ui\2.1.7\plugin.generateSemanticUi.os\assets\packages\semantic_ui-data\lib\semantic-ui\src\site\collections

Is this right? I mean, the package is available to all my apps isnt it(the ones that uses the same package at least)? So if i change a file there it will reflect on my other apps?

I thought that these files that could be changed should be available at a project level, not globally.

Am I doing this wrong? Did I got the wrong idea about the package system works?

I just can’t believe I need to change some files that are out of my app project directory.

Thank you for your time!

Yes, you got the wrong idea about the whole thing. Do as the docs tell you to do:

1. Create an empty custom.semantic.json file within your client library folder. Suggested location of /client/lib/semantic-ui/custom.semantic.json depending on your applications structure
  2. start meteor
  3. if you are happy with the default options for Semantic-UI, remove the newly generated .custom.semantic.json at this point
  4. otherwise edit custom.semantic.json (which has now been populated) to select only the definitions and themes you want
  5. save the file and it will generate Semantic UI

Now you’ll see the Site folder you were looking for, next to your .custom.semantic.json file.

In my case it’s /var/www/myproject/client/lib/semantic-ui/site

1 Like

Holly sh**. I forgot to delete the .custom.semantic.json. Thank you for pointing that out again! =x
Felling stupid right now.