Meteor.publish loads once and won't take new query

Hi there ! I’m a meteor newbie and I need some insight on what I’m doing wrong here.

I’ll explain what the app does and then post the code.

First, we input an address that is geocoded in a method. The result is then sent through a subscription to a publication.

In the publication, it finds all the office branches, sorted from nearest to farthest.

The result is sent to a reactivevar and to the template.

While in the page, if I make another input, nothing happens. In the publication, if I put a console.log at the end, I can see that the first request will fire the publication but then it won’t. If an error is thrown out (from methods.js), the list will dissapear and I can make another search. So I suspect that the subscription needs to stop().

Edit : I removed the code since it was completely changed thanks to waldgeist and I don’t people to misuse the bad code.

Your code is quite complicated. Is there a reason why are not just using one single method for retrieving the branches and sending them back to the client? Using a pub/sub seems to be overkill for me and requires server-side resources. Plus, your code would be much shorter.

I don’t need a sub / pub to sort specific items from a mongoDB ?

Edit : To specify, the branch offices are stored in a mongo collection. They are organized with SimpleSchema.

So I should pull them out and then select them in a single method, then put the IDs in a ReactiveVar ? Something like that ?

As far as I understand your use-case, the branches are already stored in the DB right? So you can do the request to the DB and return the result using the same method.

Regarding the result: You don’t have to return just the IDs alone. You can also return all branches you retrieved, e.g. in an array sorted by distance to your reference address. To save network bandwidth, I would limit the number of fields you retrieve from the database, so your array stays compact.