Meteor subscription takes forever... why?

I have a Meteor subscription that only needs to return 13 documents, and it is taking 5+ minutes for it to even hit my (local) server. For reference, there is another Meteor subscription that runs just before this one that returns 5000+ documents, and it only takes a few seconds. The subscription works and eventually the subscription is ready, but it takes 5+ minutes. I am baffled as to why that is. Does anybody have any idea what would cause this? Autopublish is off. Here is the code in question:

wip.forEach((w) => {
            Meteor.subscribe('skuOne', w.skuID, {
                onReady:() => {
                    Meteor.subscribe('custOne', w.custID, {
                            count++
                            if (count === wLength){
                                // Do stuff
                            }
                        }
                    });
                },
                onStop:() => {
                    console.log('failed');
                }
            });
        });
1 Like

Here is what my publish functions look like:

Meteor.publish('skuOne', (id) => {
    console.log('sku', id);
    return Skus.find({'_id': id});
})

Meteor.publish('custOne', (id) => {
    console.log('cust', id)
    return Customers.find({'_id': id});
})

When I say it takes 5+ minutes, it takes 5+ minutes before even the console logs fire.

First of all this is highly inefficient way to do subscriptions. You are creating new cursor for each item and then potentially multiple cursors for one customer. So first step would be to get all the ids into an array and send that array in one subscription and you could do the same with the customer ids as well. This way you are creating only two subscriptions instead of subscription for each item and customer.
You might even want to consider publish composite if you want to reduce this to just one publication:
https://atmospherejs.com/reywood/publish-composite

2 Likes