Meteor, the loose sand development stack?

Hi guys. New to the forum, yes, not new to Meteor. Have been a Meteor user since version 0.who knows, and created several applications with the platform. Whilst not being a professional developer, I do use Meteor to create applications from time to time, and I always enjoyed using it.
However, since the start of using it, I have always experienced frustration in the updating process of a Meteor app. It never seemed to end well. Over time, I have felt Meteor and all of the packages combined into your applications, to be like loose sand slipping through your fingers. I have never felt it to be a coherent-working-together-symbiont-organism. It always felt like you had to ā€œjuggleā€ the parts of your app with increasing difficulty to keep it all work from the get go. Every new update was very often a source of frustration since it was more common than not that it would break your application.

For incidental developers this can be reason enough to stop using the platform. Since you do not have an extensive documentation on your application, and a deep knowledge of all the packages you use and their co-relations. Add to this the abacadabra error messages you get after the updating of your Meteor project instance breaks your app, and there it is: the Monster of Frustration !
Now, I have an app created with version 1.8.1. working just fine as it is, doing itā€™s job, not harassing anybodyā€¦

I just ran an update of the Meteor project instance to the latest version 2.3.4. and, yeah, sure enough, the app broke down and humbojumbo appeared by droves in the terminal. Motivation to throw the whole thing out of the window, knowing that analyzing this would take me days and days, needing to get into the app deeply to understand what packages I had installed, and check whether they were broken or not, and if so, what could be done about them.