Meteor.users collection

I’m new to meteor and I’ve reading a lot however I’m a little confused around the meteor.users collection and the best way to use it. My interpretation of the best practice guide is that meteor.users collection should only be used for managing the accounts.ui package; email, password and username. The guide states that profile is insecure, a flaw in the original meteor design and should not be used.

So my question is, if I want to create a user profile that contains things like first name, last name, age, address, avatar etc do I create a separate collection like ‘userProfile’ and link it using the meteor.userid or am I suppose to keep it in the meteor.users collection somehow?

You can keep it in users collection, there’s no problem with it. You just need to use a separate publication.

Also, welcome to Meteor.

I think if you let user put info in profile field, they can change any of the info from client side, this approach with the advantage of optimistic UI, but disadvantage of security. So, if you ask put something like avatar in profile field, I’ve said that should be fine, but maybe not the user name, user Id, etc that can impact your user data integrity on the server side. Hope this help

OK. Thanks for the answers. I also posted this on stackoverflow. I’ve copied and posted the answer that Michael Floyd wrote. His explaniation is great. If someone knows how I can give him the credit, please update my post or let me know what I have to do.

Answer - Michel Floyd

Common practice is to put user profile information such as the kind you’re describing into Meteor.user().profile. In fact people often do much more, for example memberships in groups, arrays of postIds, all kinds of things. Keeping a separate 1:1 profile collection is an option but there’s no fundamental reason to do so that I can think of. On the contrary it makes things just a bit more complicated.