Meteor vs Elixir/Phoenix Where Latency Is Critical

I’m still very new to Meteor and just become aware of Elixir/Phoenix.

I’m looking to build an app where low latency from server to client is critical.

As near as I can tell, Meteor uses collections that update realtime client side while they sync server side… while this gives a good user experience, what I need is fast latency between server/client.

With that in mind, anyone with experience in Elixir/Phoenix & Meteor please chime in here.

What’s going to give me the lowest latency from client to server & visa versa?

If Elixir/Phoenix gives lower latency, am I going to lose out on development time & future maintenance in your opinion?

…are there enough tutorials/documentation for Elixir/Phoenix to make it a viable choice right now?

1 Like

Meteor’s automatic updating/pub-sub mechanism isn’t optimized for latency - it’s more for a consistent and collaborative UI experience. For example, you wouldn’t want to build a realtime multiplayer game on Meteor, but you could build the scoreboard and lobby system for it.

I’d suggest building the latency-critical parts of your app in some technology optimized for that use case, and perhaps build the rest in Meteor if that makes sense for you.

2 Likes

Checkout this interesting thread about Elixir/Phoenix.

Go, Erlang, or Elixir will give you some of the lowest latencies. They’re typically measured in micro-seconds in Erlang/Elixir. As an example an Elixir API on the same coast was responding within 14ms. At full load it only climbed to 16ms

1 Like

This is one of the points that make Elixir a very strong choice for low latency applications.

WhatsApp was written in Erlang which is what allowed it to manage 2 million connections per server while maintaining low latency.