Meteor Vs SailsJs

Hi,
I am new to Meteor and not even a full time developer, When I discovered meteor about six months back I was very excited to see what could be done with it in a matter of hours, which use to take days using php (for me)

Now I came across SailsJS and want to compare the two, so that I can go ahead in the direction which works for me.
Here’s how I would compare the two, but would like to know more from the community

Meteor JS
Pros

• Easy to understand and write.
  • Optimistic UI
  • pub/sub is built in and ready to use ( Reactivity)
  • Better community support and illustrative examples available online as compared to sailsjs

Cons

• works with only mongodb (at least officially production ready db)
  • Own package structure
  • Would use more CPU and RAM to achieve Pub/Sub using DDP instead of socket.io ? ( not certain on this)
  • Not frontend agnostic (Community and MDG had to build to support for angular and react )
  • No out of the box API framework (although this could be a pro for some )

SailsJs
Pros

• Uses npm packages directly
  • Database agnostic , supports mongo, sql, orientDB
  • Frontend agnostic (Angular/Ember and almost anything may be used)
  • Out of the box blueprint and API models available
  • better suited for IoT due to built in support for socket.io ? (not certain)

Cons

• Pub/Sub functionality using socket.io is comparatively more time consuming to write than meteor
1 Like

Obviously I’m biased since I work at Meteor! Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way:

Would use more CPU and RAM to achieve Pub/Sub using DDP instead of socket.io