Meteor + Vue Ecosystem

So I just found meteor and I think I’m in love. However I want to specifically use the Vue Ecosystem for the front-end and meteor for everything else. Is this recommended?

I’ve seen this https://atmospherejs.com/vue/vue
and
https://github.com/vuejs/vue-webpack-meteor-example

Which would be the recommended way?

I’m liking Evan’s approach a bit more than the community package. Would I be able to use the full vue ecosystem (vue, vue-router, vuex, async components) efficiently with meteor?

4 Likes

I guess not many people use this type of setup then…

I would also like this setup. Used vue with Laravel and I am familiar with it. However, I’m new to meteor and can’t answer your question.

1 Like

I’ve chosen Vue for a new project, and am bootstrapping it with Firebase b/c I feel like Meteor is a moving target. I plan to loop back in a few months and think about whether Firebase is a long-term solution I feel comfortable with. If not, I’ll reconsider Meteor, among other options.

The current state of affairs in Meteor-land is a bit frustrating, but you only have to spend a few days developing with vanilla Node to realize how much potential Meteor still has to be the best way to build Javascript apps. They just need time to reconcile their initial goals with the needs of developers in 2016.

4 Likes

I totally feel the whole moving target phrase. I also came to meteor from laravel, and realized it seems alot of it is a mess, from someone who’s entering the meteor world it looks like chaos, so easy to get lost in some of the discussions, about the view layers, blaze vs blaze2 vs misc, and the discussions about meteor’s future. Makes someone new to Meteor very uneasy.

Nonetheless, I found this a few minutes ago.

If we use that library combined with

It seems we’ll be able to use Vue, without much trouble(just speculating, ill try building something this week).