Meteor with MySQL - Can it benefit like Mongo?

Hi!
I just got startet with Meteor, and I have never used Mongo before. So Im wondering, how is MySQL with Meteor? I guess it does not have the reactivy like Mongo?

You can have reactive MySQL with the numtel:mysql package.

Alternatively, you can get non-reactive MySQL with the npm mysql package, but you will have to wrap the calbacks with Meteor.wrapAsync to use with Meteor’s server-side fibers/futures.

Thanks. What about the speed compared to mongo?

One more thing to consider if you’re planning on using mysql (or any SQL based data store with Meteor). MDG themselves are putting a significant amount of their resources behind Apollo, which can leverage any type of backend by wrapping access to it via a GraphQL server. It’s only a matter of time before any of the existing Meteor + mysql packages are no longer applicable / usable with modern Meteor versions. If you’re planning a new Meteor project that uses mysql, you might want to jump on the Apollo bandwagon sooner than later.

I strongly disagree with @hwillson.

My business embraced Meteor in early 2015. Since then, we have been using it with MySQL for our webapps and it works beautifully.

Originally, we chose to use MySQL instead of MongoDB for interoperability with our legacy LAMP-based solutions, but since those were retired, we have continued to use MySQL with Meteor on its own merits. Please search the forums for my previous posts where I have written at length.

We have also been actively developing the wj32:mysql and vlasky:mysql forks of Ben Green’s numtel:mysql package.

These packages differ in the way that they handle the data, but all of us developers collaborate with each other.

numtel:mysql treats MySQL result sets as arrays and uses an array-based diff algorithm for updates.