Mongo Collections gone

I wake up to the server hung and all my collections are now empty. Is there any back up or any way to get the data back without manually reentering all the info. Also I am new to coding and meteor both started about a month ago. If there is already a topic about this please let me know I have been looking for a while and can’t find any info.

Was this a development project or a deployed meteor build project?

I did not like putting my project up with the deploy command so I going to say it is a development project.

You can deploy your project anywhere. It does not have to be deployed on meteor.com

The trouble with the development environment is, running meteor reset or any other number of things will delete your collections.

When you deploy an application to your own infrastructure be sure to manage your database and back it up.

Unfortunately your data is gone.

If you have test-data etc you’d like to enter in for a “fresh” install with the right data, put it in your startup code.

if (Meteor.isServer) {
  Meteor.startup(function () {
    if(MyCollection.find().count() === 0){
      MyCollection.insert({someData: "nice"});
      MyCollection.insert({someData: "somemorenicedata"});
    }
  }
}

This is exceptionally nice for users

if (Meteor.users.find().count() === 0) {
  Accounts.createUser({
    username: "greblak",
    password: "test"
  }
}

A “meteor reset” will drop your data, however it will be back up again on starting the server if you have it specified in your boot file :slight_smile:

1 Like