Mongo DB database modelling

Hi guys,

Im fairly new to development, with less than a year of experience under the belt. I’m building a meteor app. Need some practical help with the database modelling.

App Structure:

1. User
  2. Projects (have many Meetings, many Topics and many TRADs)
  3. Meetings (have many Topics and related to several Projects)
  4. Topics (can have many TRADs and related to multiple Projects and Meetings )
  5. TRADs = [Todos, Risks, Actions, Decisions] - each of these related to Project, Meeting, and Topic

At the moment, I have collection for Users, Projects, and Meetings (Topics and TRADs are within the Meetings collection)

Can someone give me practical example how to model the database?
I am happy to provide more info or code snippets

Many thanks,

I’m new to Mongo and will be interested to hear the answer. It’s pretty straight forward in SQL.

For clarification, projects have many meetings and many topics. Meetings have many topics. Are these same topics shared between projects and meetings?

I’m confused why projects have topics. Projects have meetings. Meetings also have topics. It seems like topics may be something different in a meetings relation vs a project relation?

Yes, same Topics are shared between Projects and Meetings. the reason behind is, the user creates a Project and adds Meetings and Topics to it. Simultaneously the User should be able to create a Meeting (related to a Project) and have many Topics. Also User should be able to create a Topic, and relate it to a Project.

The bottom line is, the user should be able to go into the Project, and see all the Meetings within the Project, as well as all the Topics and TRADs.

Ok that makes sense. So topics belong to projects, meetings selects a topic related to that project.