Mongo DB Design Best Practices

Hey, so I’m wondering: what are the best practices when it comes to “designing” your Mongo collections? Suppose I would try to create a mail client in Meteor/Mongo, would I put all messages of all users in a single collection called “Messages” and only show the ones that the user owns? And for an archive: would it be better to create one archive document in an archive collection per user and give it an array field, or would the same approach I described for the messages be a better idea?

I’m generally wondering what the best practices are when it comes to using Mongo with Meteor. Thanks!

1 Like

The design of NoSQL collections, documents and performance strategies (MongoDB is a NoSQL database after all) are given in well designed patters found in a book written by Rick Copeland - MongoDB Applied Design Patterns. I am fairly new with Meteor, so I wouldn’t have specific recommendations in that regard.

4 Likes

Embed the ID of the owner object in each doc. When you publish be sure to include the ID in your query…

Emails.find({owner_id: Meteor.userId});

Remember…never take something like a users id from the client…always get it from Meteor when you are trying to control doc access on the server.

1 Like

As for the archive…it’s feels like you would likely need a collection per user if you expect people to use the app for a very long time and accrue a large email archive. Even then you may want to de normalize and keep uber old docs in a “cold storage” collection that is selectively published based on something like a search for old emails…

…just kinda spitballing here :slight_smile:

Make sure upon startup (Meteor.startup) that you slap indexes on any fields that publish functions will be using to return results. So for example:

Meteor.publish('emailsByOwner', function (userId) {
  return Emails.find({owner_id: userId});
});

Meteor.startup(function () {
  Emails._ensureIndex({owner_id: 1});
});
4 Likes

Hi,