MWC: how to rerender on URL change

Heyo everyone,

story time

I’m just starting out with Meteor + Polymer using Synthesis by @aruntk and I’m very happy about the results and greatful for the time he’s invested in this project. There’s one issue I’m having though.

I’ve previously only changed a iron-pages object to change the content of my view. Putting that in a FlowRouter like FlowRouter.route("/", action: {ironpages.select("home");}); works just fine. However, my site is getting more complex and I want to rerender a whole section now. I’m being told to do it reactively which is (to my poor understanding) the preferred way of building Apps here.

tl;dr - skip to here if you don’t care about stories

So what I did is just putting mwcLayout.render("test-layout",{"main":"yas-manual-page"}); in my Router action. However, I have to reload to make the changes visible which is not what I want.

• the router action is being called when changing the URL
  • the mwcLayout.render() call works if I reload the page once in the initial building of the site
  • calling mwcLayout.render() again at a later point does not do anything

I’ve read up on the topic and people say it’s a problem with single-page apps and not building it reactively and whatnot, but I have no idea how this is not reactive. It’s reacting to the URL change.

Please, if you have a minute, share some insight with me, I’m really stuck. :slight_smile:

Have a wonderful day y’all!

EDIT: reposted on SE.SO as suggested in the sticky.

Hi @yorrd .

First of all thanks for the kind words. Regarding your problem this behavior is added as a feature of mwc layout to prevent multiple re rendering during each route change. Workarounds here are to create another mwc layout or to set third argument “forceRender”. From the mwc:layout docs

forceRender