My First Meteor App!

I don’t come from a software engineering background, I’m an electronics / RF technician by trade. I’ve done some Arduino hacking, and have always been scripting my way to less work at work :wink:

I read about Meteor about 2 months ago, when I was dabbling in learning my way around Ruby / Rails.
I took a detour for 2 days and powered through CodeAcademy’s Javascript course. Then picked up Meteor…
I powered through the tutorial on Meteor.com… And was disliking Meteor more and more… Where was my MVC? What code went where? I was about to decide that Meteor was not for me, and go back to learning Rails. But the a lure of reactivity, and the ability to target mobile made me decide to give it one more shot.

I picked up the DiscoverMeteor book, and found structure. A guide! It was starting to click. I still hate Javascript syntax, but the concepts are starting to add up!

Then I discovered a few handy packages, and the concepts REALLY started to click! msavin:mongol I love you!!!

Anyways. I dropped all the tutorials, books, and took a detour for the past two weeks to write an app! It’s buggy, and lacks polish. But I’m proud of what I was able to accomplish in just a few weeks time on the evenings!
Ability to share objects between users!

Mobile & Mobile Web & Browser Image upload, with thumbnail storage, gm magick to compress & S3 storage!

• Responsive chart!!! (This was amazing to proof of concept!)
  • Ability to insert objects in other objects, and propagate properties down the tree! (Plants go in containers, you can - measure the container, which then applies that measurement to all plants individually, as well as the container! So plants keep a complete history, even when they get moved between containers.)
  • Develop reusable interface components! (The notes, images, and all other tabs are shared between the different collections. As well as the New / Edit modals!)
  • APK Ready for install! (hydrotrackerapp.com/hydrotracker.apk)