Need help displaying live data by polling mongo db

First of all, I am new to Meteor and Javascript, but I am trying my best to grasp the language.

Need help with displaying live data on a home page.
in the home.html i am calling this helper “part” and passing “45” as argument

<p>Price of No. 45 is {{part 45}}</p>

in home.js I am searching the Part database for an item that match the type I specified through the passed argument then sort it and finally, i try to return its value of its price key.

Template.home.helpers({
  part: function (type) {
    return Part.findOne({'type':type}, { sort: { createdAt: -1 }}).price;
  }
});

I am getting the following error, and I understand why because of the delay in retrieving data from the db.

Exception in template helper: TypeError: Cannot read property 'price' of undefined

What can I do to fix this? callback or something.

Thanks

It looks like the findOne query is not returning an object with a price property. Maybe check your Part publication on the server. Ensure the price field is being published. Also ensure you are subscribing to the correct Part subscription on the client.

I use React mainly, but {{price 45}} may be invalid syntax? Someone else may know better. Try moving 45 outside the double curly braces {{price}} 45.

Dear Johnner thanks for the reply, the findOne query does return the correct object, but after a little delay. I know this because after couple of attempts I see the correct price data. I just dont know how to hold the “.price” part of the code until the query has returned valid data. Any ideas?

It’s because at the first loading of the page, the Part is still empty, so, there is no price to retrieve. Try the following code:

Template.home.helpers({
part: function (type) {
return Part.findOne({‘type’:type}, { sort: { createdAt: -1 }}) && Part.findOne({‘type’:type}, { sort: { createdAt: -1 }}).price;
}
});