Nested Sesssion Keys?

Now technically I am using reactive dict but it uses the same core and session has the same issue. I am guessing there’s the chance I am missing something.

Is it not possible to handle nested keys? For example, I have data which mutates. I have multiple values that are categorized and I need to update just a small part of them with reactive capabilities. The “key” will change for some of them so I need to be able to capture all of them and parse through them to build react components.

kind: {
one: { … },
two: { … },
three: { … }
}

The problem is that using set will overwrite the entire thing and only the last one remains! Ah!

myDict = new ReactiveDict;
myDict.set({
          one: { foo: "bar" },
          two: { foo2: "bar2" },
          three: {food3: "bar3" }
     }
});

^ so that will set it up properly, great.but now I need to modify just ONE of those values:

myDict.set({kind: {one: {foo: "NewValue"}});

Now i’ve lost two and three!

I am fairly new to javascript coming from tcl / python which handle dicts like this so perhaps I am just using this wrong? With TCL here is how it would work as a reference:

set kind [dict create \
     one [dict create foo bar] \
     two [dict create foo2 bar2] \
     three [dict create foo3 bar3]
]

% kind {one {foo bar} two {foo2 bar2} three {foo3 bar3}

dict set kind one foo NewValue

% kind {one {foo NewValue} two {foo2 bar2} three {foo3 bar3}

Just as a note, I did find that I could probably do something like query the value, edit it with a function then post it back as the full value. Seems slow and wasteful, but it should work… Something like

function set(v, path, value) {
    var schema = v;  // a moving reference to internal objects within obj
    var pList = path.split('.');
    var len = pList.length;
    for(var i = 0; i < len-1; i++) {
        var elem = pList[i];
        if( !schema[elem] ) schema[elem] = {}
        schema = schema[elem];
    }

schema[pList[len-1]] = value;
    return v