New here. First app

Good afternoon everyone.

I’m a new developer, but I have been in IT for quite some time building up new systems for customers. I’m looking to develop some document apps where I take certain PDF’s and turn them into Fancy HTML forms that are then validated by code to make sure they are completed, then sent off to be validated by a reviewer who specializes in that document. From there both parties can print out the document and send it onto wherever it needs to go. The reason I’m bringing this up on meteor forum is that I would like to to be a SAAS app as I have request coming in from several people to provide this service, and I was wondering if I can use meteor to make this happen as far as having separate databases and using some type of reverse proxy to have separate domain names. Thanks for any future help. The reason I choose meter is that its the only thing I have learned so far. This would be great as a Laravel Spark app, but no need to learn a new langauage right now. If the idea takes off I would pay to get it moved to something else.

Hi @beehive414, welcome to Meteor and these forums.

SAAS with Meteor is completely possible - search these forums for SAAS and you’ll see various threads about it. Separate databases, unique URLs and reverse proxies are one method, but there are others.

In my opinion, the simplest method (as I describe here) is to have one domain name and only one database - this makes devOps much easier (no reverse proxy, trivial SSL certificates, etc.). All you need is a package like mizzao:partitioner to assign a groupId to each record in the database, and then each user can only access data from their own group.