Newbie react-router question - How to use it!

Hello. I’m new to web development. I’ve been learning Javascript, Meteor, React, MongoDB, and various other small components. (Steep learning curve!) I’ve worked my way through many tutorials and I am doing pretty well, but I am stumped on routing.

I understood the routing examples given in meteortips.com Your Second Meteor Application using Iron Router/Blaze and I am trying to rewrite this in my Meteor-React application using react-router.

I’ve installed the reactrouter:react-router package (v1.0.3 — updated that today) and tried to follow the supplied examples. Nothing I do seems to make it work correctly, so I’m finally turning to the community for help. I have two basic questions:

1. Is there anything I need to do besides type meteor add reactrouter:react-router to make this active? If so, what?
  2. Are there any good complete examples that I can reference?

Because I’m new to this it’s difficult to follow most of the examples/tutorials since I don’t fully understand all of the pieces yet. A good complete example will go a long way for me. I truly appreciate any help you can provide.

Ken

This is a good basic example of react router usage:

I’m new to Meteor, but from the research and testing I’ve done, my advice would be to not use React Router and to instead use Flow Router. Check out their SSR (server-side rendering) branch on GitHub for the latest and greatest. There’s a complete guide that I think puts it together with React very clearly here: https://kadira.io/academy/meteor-routing-guide

@tedavery I was trying to select between those which one to use. I almost have React Router working now (almost!) but I am curious why you make this recommendation. What is the advantage of using Flow Router? Is there anything I give up? I chose React Router because the name implies that it plays nicely with React, but that’s perhaps not the best reason. :wink: