Nibbl - introducing my dining app and startup

Hello fellow Meteorites and a better-late-than-never Happy New Year!

Sharing out the web app I’m making for my startup for the first time:

https://nibbl.com/invite/meteor

Just sign up and I’ll add anyone to the beta – I have real restaurants listed and can’t have everything open to the public yet. A screenshot to… wet your appetite into registering :grin:

There are still a few major features that need building but one of my personal milestones was sharing my work with the Meteor community, so here it is.

I started learning Meteor in 2014 and it’s been amazing – in January of last year I quit my job as an Agile/Scrum product manager to work on my app full-time.

I’ve been through one ‘pivot’ so far and to keep things short I’ll save that story for another day.

nibbl has since been course-corrected to become a fully responsive web app that lets you book reservations and prix-fixed menu dining experiences at a curated list of local restaurants, with a highly visual focus on the food and the chefs behind it.

I still have to create the actual reservation/booking system and the review system – massive undertakings – but I think I can have them largely done by the end of February.

Everything else in the app is real, working, and built from scratch.

I’m on Meteor 1.1.0.3 now and I updated Mongo 2.4->3.0 last night. I’m going to tackle upgrading to Meteor 1.2 next so I don’t get too far behind. With the 197 packages I’m using I’ll probably end up burning this entire week on the process.

Zero outside investment so far and nibbl is entirely mine, though I’ll soon be sharing out my business plan and investment opportunity with a small pool of initial friends and acquaintances who have expressed interest. Wish them luck :slight_smile: