Packages installed on Default

Hello Meteor Community!

I am new to meteor, and as such, I was wondering if there might be a diagram or something that shows ALL the tools installed by default with Meteor (eg. Angular, Cordova, Node, Git, etc…)

Please let me know! I’d hate to have installed all the tools twice, as I haven’t found an all inclusive list of what is installed by default.

Thanks!

After you create a new meteor project with meteor create test in your cmd or Terminal,
the ‘test’ project should have a “.meteor” folder which contains a file named “packages”.
This file has all the list of packages pre-installed by default.

Besides, you do not have to worry about duplicate installations, the built-in package manager knows if you already have the same package installed.

Cheers

Hi Meher,

Thank you for that information. What I was thinking, more broadly speaking, was what did I get when I did an:
curl httxp://install.meteor.com / | sh (link changed to disable it).

I found a link that shows the technology installed here, but was wondering if there was more to Meteor than what was listed on the page. For example, is Meteor installing Node, JADE, Angular, EmberJS, etc when it is installed, or do I have to perform an NPM install command to get those. If so, do I have to prefix it with “meteor”, or do I simply install the package via NPM and then add the dependencies to my package.json?

Thanks for the help!

Hey,

Okay i think I got what you now. Here is a list of packages Meteor is shipped with.
But coming to second part of your question; NPM install package name
seems to install the package but I do not think it is encouraged.

Also, there seems to be this Meteor Package that allows you to

Use Npm Modules with Your Meteor App

I have personally not used any NPM module directly in my meteor application. Most of the time have found some equivalent package in meteor.
Cheers