Pause client sided script on Meteor.call() - wait for Meteor.call()

Okay I have to admit - I am having the same trouble wrapping my head around this sync/async in MeteorJS. I am completely new to Meteor and have no past experience with NodeJS either.

So here’s my case: I am developing a multiplayer game in Meteor and the client side has to halt/wait while the server is handling the database execution. If not, then the user’s will not sync up and have the same data available (ie, if a user kills another user and his script is not halted until that other user is removed from the database, then he would be able to keep killing until the database execution is completed).

My methods are very straight forward:

'killOtherPlayer': function(enemy_id) { 
    PlayersDB.remove({
      _id: enemy_id
    });
}

And I call them simply using

Meteor.call('killOtherPlayer', id);

Now the question is, how do I make the client wait for the server to execute the PlayersDB.remove() function? As it is now, the Meteor.call() functions seem to stack up, but the characters are still able to move around the map while the calls are being executed resulting in loads of calls piling up.

Is Meteor.wrapAsync() the road I need to travel, and if so - how would I approach it?

Thanks a lot!

Look at the docs http://docs.meteor.com/#/full/meteor_call

asyncCallback Function

Optional callback, which is called asynchronously with the error or result after the method is complete. If not provided, the method runs synchronously if possible (see below).

For example:

Meteor.call('killOtherPlayer', id, function (err, res) {
    // do stuff here
})

I am not sure that I am doing it right, but using this Meteor.call() with a callback isn’t working properly:

Meteor.call('killOtherPlayer', id, function (err, res) {
    if(err){
      console.log(err);
    }else{
      console.log('You killed a player');
    }
});