Performance about the parent/child subscription pattern

Hi, I’m fairly new to Meteor development.

We have a use case where we display a list of posts and each post has several comments, similar to a Facebook feed. Currently we are subscribing to a “posts” publication and each post component (we are using React) is subscribing to a “comments” publication constrained to the post id.

This is similar (if not the same) to the N+1 query problem. I was wondering about the performance of this pattern in the Meteor world (i.e. websockets + mongo), is this something to be avoided? Should we change this so the parent component subscribes to both publications at once?

If you care about performance I would suggest embedding the latest comments in the post document (or even embedding them entirely if you don’t think you are going to have thousands of comments per post) and then subscribing to the comments publication only on the “post detail page” or if the user wants to see all comments (facebook doesn’t show all comments from the start either).

Still, it’s probably better to leave this optimizations for later, if you feel the publications are slowing down your app (the quote premature optimization is the root of all evil. is well knows for good reasons).

2 Likes

Having dealt with this quite a bit while creating the Socialize package set, I’ll chime in on this.

I personally would not use a subscription that depends on another subscription. The reason for this being that subscriptions block on a per connection basis. Each new subscribe call initiated by a specific client will not complete until any previous subscriptions initiated by that client have completed.