Possibility, to create a photogallery from images out of JSONs

Hi there,

I’m looking for a possibility, to show images in a photogallery.

The images to show are from an other website. I have access to the JSON were you can see the image URL.
I don’t have any idea, how to show the images.

May you have a possibility?

Currently I’m using Meteor 1.4 with Blaze (I’m new in Meteor so I think Blaze much easier to lern)

I’m thankful for any suggestion!

Thanks a lot,
Kumar

Here’s how I’d approach this:

Create two files named covfefe.json and pence.json, and place them in the folder named private (create it if it doesn’t already exist).

Note that files under the private directory are never served to the client.

private/covfefe.json

{ 
"name": "Donald Covfefe",
"description": "President of the Covfefe",
"imageURL": "https://img.whitehouse.com/potus.webp",
"album": "twitter"
 }

private/pence.json

{ 
"name": "Mike Pence",
"description": "VP of the Covfefe",
"imageURL": "https://img.whitehouse.com/vpotus.webp",
"album": "twitter"
 }

Now that we have our JSON files, we can use the Assets API to read and parse their contents:

Create main.js in the server folder: server/main.js and add the following content

Meteor.startup(function() {
var covfefe = JSON.parse(Assets.getText('/covfefe.json')); 
var pence = JSON.parse(Assets.getText('/pence.json')); 
var presi = [covfefe, pence];
_.each(presi, function(press) {
 // replace this with something like Photos.insert(pres);
console.log(pres); 
   }); 
});

To use Photos.insert(pres), you’ll have to create the Photos collection. You can always publish this collection and subscribe to it from your Blaze helpers to display in your photogallery template.

1 Like

Is this for real or a joke? Pretty sure @kumar1 asked about data from another site, not stored on the meteor server.

He said the images are, but didn’t specify that the json was from another site (just that he has access to them)