Production Troubleshooting using Log infrastructure

Hi All,

I’m soon to deploy my meteor app to production for the first time. I’m new to meteor and web development generally, so I wonder how to troubleshoot production issues.
The systems I built in the past were using a sophisticated log infrastructure which allowed us to reproduce the user’s flow that caused the issue and therefore troubleshoot the problem fast.

However, I saw no reference to logging it in the meteor guide. I find it hard to believe that there is no builtin logging activity at the server side, at least for DDP transportation.

Am I missing something, but if not, how do you troubleshoot production issues? Which logging system do you use?

Best regards,
Eviatar

1 Like

That depends on two main factors:

• Lightweight logging, such as exception handling and tracing can be handled on Mongo as a separate collection.
  • Tracebacks, status management, etc (Heavyweight logging), better use a local / cloud file system for this.

There is no pre-built logging solution for Meteor, but also remember Meteor is a NodeJS app and unless you’re working with <1.3 versions then you can make use of NPM packages that best suit your needs.

In my case, I use log4JS and avoid logging into database as that will decrease overall performace and availability.

In general, logging is an architecture design, which means it’s purpose specific.

My recommendation would be to build a Logger controller yourself that you can import into each specific method and is able to monitor Method arguments and state, something like this:

// on Method declaration
method(...args){
    if(!this.userId){  throw new Meteor.Error('Not authorized') }
    const loggerComposite = new Logger('method.name');
    loggerComposite.assignUser(this.userId);    
    loggerComposite.argumentsUsed(...args);
    // For sensitive methods, use a try / catch
    try{
          // Logic goes here
        loggerComposite.success(returnedResult);