Publications/Mongo only half-working in production

Hello! I’ve been in the throes of developing my first Meteor app the past few weeks, and am working on finally getting it into production. I’m hosting on Google Compute Engine. I followed the basics of this guide to get my Compute Engine instance and Mongo disk set up, and after some tinkering it got running and I can now access my app at the instance’s ip address. Yay!

Since it seems to be running, the issue I’m currently having is an odd one. I can sign in with the stock Accounts-ui form and navigate to different pages, but some of the pages (not all) are stuck indefinitely on the Iron Router’s “loading template”. One call I can confirm isn’t working is Meteor.users.findOne(the_user_id); (called from inside a Meteor.method()), although find() calls on my custom collections seem to not always work either.

Is there a configuration detail that I missed somewhere? I’m a noob when it comes to infrastructure so it’s entirely possible, I’m just not sure where to look. Per the guide, I created a Compute engine instance and a separate persistent disk for Mongo, and in the instance’s terminal I tried setting export MONGO_URL='<other_variations_of_urls_that_I_thought_might_work> to no avail.

I’d really appreciate any help or suggestions on getting my app up and running. Thanks!

EDIT: I should note, everything works beautifully when I run the app on my local machine. The issue has only arisen now that it’s bundled and hosted on a server.