Question about Galaxy and VC

I am a complete newb to Meteor. I know that it is easy enough to install locally and run, but my team is looking to try and host something so we can all see the same end result. I looked into Galaxy and for $29 a month, it seems like it takes a lot of the thinking out of getting setup. The deployment is super simple with a CLI command >> and boom >> you’re deployed. That being said, I wanted to know how VC would fit into that?

Is it typical to simply have a Git repo the team shares and we just pull any time we’re working on something, then just push the local files back up to the repo, and then separately deploy them from the CLI manually on the local machine?

Or is there a proven and tested way to do this that is better. Like having a single branch on Git that is the deployment branch, so we can work on any number of branches and then when we’re ready, merge them into that particular branch >> and it handles the CLI to BOOM! Galaxy deployment?

Sorry if these are kind of dumb questions, but Im just trying to get a better sense now, so I don’t end up having to do things multiple times later on.

Thanks for the feedback!

1 Like

That’s the way I’d do it.

I’ve tested Galaxy extensively, it’s a great platform. One CLI, and about ~10 minutes later, your app launches on a new container. It does full logging, and it’s really great. Meteor is a bit of a bugger to hassle because you have to host MongoDB yourself some where else. I went with mLab as per their tutorial, and it was great there too. mLab gives you 500mb for free on 1 CPU core share setup. It’s decent.

This way is expensive however.