React Function not firing?

Hello, folks. I’m a relatively new Meteor developer, and after learning Blaze, I decided to start learning React, because it seemed like the right thing to do, and I sort of liked the idea of how it worked.

Anyway, I’m having issues with a bit of code I’m working on, and could use some guidance… I’ve got the following segments of code:

For some reason, when the form in the component is submitted, it isn’t firing the function that’s meant to handle submission. Instead, it refreshes the page (as event.preventDefault() never happens).

What would be causing this to happen? As per suggested on IRC, I’ve tried replacing onSubmit={this.handleSubmit} with the following:

• onSubmit={()=>{this.handleSubmit}}
  • onSubmit={this.handleSubmit()}

Neither of them had any effect, the form submission function still isn’t being called. I’m really confused, because I followed documentation for the most part, and it looks like it should be working.

As I’m really new to React, I’m sure I’m overlooking something, but have no idea what. Can anyone offer me some aid? Thanks in advance!

EDIT: It was suggested that I link a repository that has the project in a runnable state. This is the repository that the current code is living in: https://bitbucket.org/czbaker/karuto/

I would pare it down and then build it up once the basics are working. Put this into a page that can render and then checkout the debugger.

MyForm = React.createClass({
  handleSubmit(event) {
    debugger
    event.preventDefault();
    console.log('test');
  },

render() {
    debugger
    return (
      <form onSubmit={this.handleSubmit}>
        <textarea rows="20" ref="proxy-cards"></textarea>
        <input type="submit" value='Submit' />
      </form>
    );
  }
});
1 Like

Yeah, like…I don’t know if it has something to do with it being a component that’s a child of others, but…yeah.