React: How to reactively update subscriptions

Hi guys,
I know this question was asked a couple times before, but even applying the other thread’s solutions results in some very weird behavior for me. I should add I’m still very new to React, and I miss Blaze dearly :sweat:

The basic situation is: I have a search form somewhere in my container. I want to adjust its subscriptions based on this search term input.

So what I’m doing right now is this:
I let the search term bubble up from the form component all the way to the container (using _.debounce(100) to not spam the server). I tried directly using this info in the createContainer call, but that didn’t really work out. So I read here in the forum, a clean approach is to wrap the reactive container in a normal container that handles the data. So it looks like this now:

const InnerListContainer = createContainer((props) => {
  const searchTerm = props.searchTerm;
  const changeSearchTerm = props.changeSearchTerm;
  const subscriptionHandle = Meteor.subscribe('books/search', searchTerm);

return {
    books:
      Books.search( // Books.search is a wrapper around find that is also used in the publication
        searchTerm, {}, { sort: { englishName: 1 } }
      ).fetch(),
    booksReady: subscriptionHandle.ready,
    searchHandler: changeSearchTerm,
  };
}, ListPage);

export default class ListContainer extends Component {
  constructor(props) {
    super(props);

this.state = {
      searchTerm: '',
    };
  }

changeSearchTerm(newTerm) {
    this.setState({ searchTerm: newTerm });
  }

render() {
    const { searchTerm } = this.state;
    return <InnerListContainer
      searchTerm={searchTerm}
      changeSearchTerm={this.changeSearchTerm.bind(this)}
    />;
  }
}