React without React mixins

I’ve been playing around with React for several months now and I’ve stumbled upon a different way of integrating with React that doesn’t use React mixins. Let me know what you think:

I spend quite a while building a mixin so I could use React with Meteor, but I’ve come to the conclusion that mixins are the wrong way to integrate with Meteor. In building this mixin, things started to get messy and eventually I found myself fighting two frameworks instead of one! The solution is to think more functional as opposed to object oriented.

First, think of React as a rendering engine rather than a view controller. Create a top-level App component that takes in an immutable object representing the state of the entire application and renders the whole app based on that state. Now all your time can be focused on how you change the state and render again. Simple as that. And this, I believe, is how React was intended to be used – every component should be using the PureRenderMixin.

Here’s how things end up working. When you want change the view, you “evolve” the state. Evolve is the term I use for both extending, and applying functions on key-values. The other thing you’ve heard a bunch about React is immutability. So using a library like Ramda is very convenient. To set the “route” prop of you top level component to ‘home’ and render it, simply do this:

evolveState({ route: 'home' })
render()

The top level React component gets this object as props and renders the whole page for you. Now, you have lots of freedom with how you structure the state of your the app.

Suppose you have data in your app, and your state looks like this:

State = 
  route: 'home'
  home: 

If theres a new event you want to render (perhaps in a callback from Cursor.observe.added), you could do this:

evolveState
  home:
render()