Rebuilt a site originally Drupal 6 w/Ubercart as Meteor, and Re-Launched

I’m aware that new Meteor sites are being launched all the time, but wanted to announce the launch of https://flatwarefinder.com a site that was originally launched 8 years ago using Drupal 6 with Ubercart. I finally decided to modernize it, migrating the products and users, and despite the fact that I’m no graphic artist, I’m happy with it. I love Meteor!

I hope to post a blog shortly about the issues, and the solutions I used to resolve them, but if people have questions in the mean time, feel free to ask.

2 Likes

Works great programmatically but some modern css aka bootstrap would make it better.

I like it!

By the way you can speed up the initial load by deferring the load of the stripe dependencies. I’d suggest only loading those scripts when the page loaded by moving them at the very end.

Screen Shot 2017-09-01 at 5.51.56 PM.png

Volodymyr, it is Bootstrap, but perhaps I could have used more of its options.

1 Like

Thank you, good idea.

1 Like

Design is old.

Technology is awesome. Ran very fast, was to the point. I think you’ll be successful.

I think you’d have more success with a fresher design.

Good luck!

Thanks for the feedback. I’m no css wizard, nor a graphic artist, so I focused on the technology, and kept it close to the original site design.

1 Like

Hi @dpatte

I’m sure you put a lot of work into it, but why in the world wouldn’t you use Shopify for an ecommerce site? You get a metric shit ton of features, and access to high-quality free and paid (low-cost) professionally designed themes. Shopify have a large marketplace of apps to extend the functionality of your store, and it also support selling on multiple channels like facebook, pinterest and elsewhere. It’s really an unbeatable value.