Replacing Gulp with Meteor as a static site dev tool

Hi all,
I’m a front-end developer who is trying to find a way to creep Meteor into my company’s workflow. I moved them from Grunt to Gulp and I’ve done very well with all the options that are offered but I want to adoptive Meteor as a front-end static site build tool (for now) as a foot in the door. My boss is very interested in Javascript, everybody on the team already knows it…I want to take website front-end mocks to the next level as long as I can get the CSS, JS, and HTML for individual views.

I’ve looked into https://github.com/frozeman/meteor-build-client and it looks like it could be the solution but I was wondering if there are any other alternatives to use Meteor as a task-runner or if there are tutorials for writing something like this on a case-by-case basis (sort of you would with Gulp)?

Ideally I’d like something that would:

• handle most operations a normal task runner would: copying, combining partials, minifying or exporting with sourcemaps
  • export each view as a static html page
  • allow me to leverage the plugins meteor offers while in ‘watching mode’
  • take whatever data I used to feed to client and export that as static text
  • export the entire project to a location nearby or onto the Desktop

I understand that’s not what Meteor was designed for but this would be a great way to allow influential team members to bring Meteor into the normal web dev workflow and it seems totally possible, am I missing anything?

Well, as far as I know, meteor does not support custom build routines, the link you provided achieves the “client only” build with bash scripts.

Also Meteor was not meant to build static sites, thats is like taking a bulldozer for a nice chill ride around the sea border.