Router.current().data() vs. Collection.find()?

I’m still learning Meteor & Iron Router, but I’m a little confused about the multitude of ways to access data. I’ve got a (seemingly) straightforward app with a client subscription to a Collection, routed with Iron Router.

But am I supposed to use Collection.find() in my client code or Router.current().data()? Does it matter?

I think Collection.find() would be the best practice. Router.current().data() works only with iron-router and simply returns all the data while the other one has the mongo api (search, filters, etc).

Collection.find() and Collection.findOne() are the only way to read data from a collection. The data() function from Iron Router allows to attach data (which you often get from Collection.find() anyway) to a route.

Some might disagree, but if you are learning Meteor, stay away from Iron Router. It is a complex package. If you really need a router, use only the most basic features of Iron Router (route declaration + Router.current().params to get the route URL reactively).

1 Like

Check out https://github.com/meteorhacks/flow-router. It is very minimal router.

I don’t think you simply can compare Collection.find (Collection.findOne) with Router.current().data(). The first one is usually used to set the data context the template should be rendered with, while the other one is used to retrieve the data context the template is rendered with.

I usually use Collection.findOne to set the data context the template should be rendered with, and use templateInstance.data to retrieve it in template functions.

1 Like

@delgermurun, thanks a lot for the link to the new routing package.

Maybe it could be even more minimalist, but it looks already like a huge progress over Iron Router (still have to try it, though).