S3 Storage + 15 char min

I can’t seem to get S3 file upload working. Does anybody have a helpful guide/resource that is current? Slingshot doesn’t seem to work anymore.

Don’t have any guide. But I can confirm S3 loading using Slingshot works like a charm on both in our production env (1.6.1 meteor) and dev 1.8.1 meteor.

1 Like

I was able to get slingshot working by unchecking a bunch of mysterious boxes on AWS.

Total noob here, am I opening up my s3 bucket to anyone writing to it?

I’m gonna just mess around and run some tests but if anyone has some reading for best practices for this stuff I would really appreciate it. The slingshot docs didn’t mention anything about AWS policies aside from CORS, I’m wondering if something has changed on the AWS-side?

Thank you for the confirmation @perumalkuk

@jistjoalal I maintain a package for my projects with regular updates for the aws-sdk npm which also supports adding metas like ‘cache-control’ and ‘expires’. https://github.com/activitree/s3up-meta This package is an update of https://github.com/Lepozepo/S3. I got most of the documentation from Lepozepo so you can get the info from either repo. If you need help with implementing it, I am here.

{
	"Version": "2008-10-17",
	"Statement": [
		{
			"Sid": "AllowPublicRead",
			"Effect": "Allow",
			"Principal": {
				"AWS": "*"
			},
			"Action": "s3:GetObject",
			"Resource": "arn:aws:s3:::YOURBUCKETNAMEHERE/*"
		}
	]
}

Thanks for your help. Do you know how I can set a more restrictive bucket policy? Am I misunderstanding or does that allow any AWS user full access to the bucket?

I can’t keep straight between CORS policy, bucket policy, ACL, access keys… Amazon is not as easy as meteor :smile: