Seperate Databases for Seperate Users

Hello, so I am trying to create an app with an infrastructure somewhat like Shopify. Someone should be able to logon and create their own instance of a ‘store’. However I’m having some trouble with figuring out how to separate the MongoDB databases for each different store.

I am happy to store the contents of the store on a global database, however I want each store to have separate users as you shouldn’t be able to create an account on one store and then be able to login with that account on the other stores.

I have seen people changing the database using:

Meteor.users = new Mongo.Collection('users_new');

however that didn’t work for me. If anyone has any ideas or a better way to approach the issue it would be much appreciated. I have never done anything like this before and really do not know the best way to approach this, thanks for any help!

How abount adding a new field into the user account collection or creating a new collection to connect user accounts to stores.

In this case, you have to extend the Accounts package to add the checking if the user is allowed on a particular store to login

Hi thanks for the reply, I’ll give this a go in the next day or two and tell you what I came up with with your idea and see if it worked

Using a package like alanning:roles allows this by separating the users and their roles into “groups”, just make sure the group name is unique and stored with the other information about each store

Hi so I’m not sure that that would work. Basically, I want it so that you can signup on separate stores and be logged in on one store and not on the other. This is why I think I’ll need a different database for each store because I can see no easy way of handling that.

I looked into doing it this way, however the way I was doing it is a mess and in no way would it have worked.
Can you maybe elaborate a bit more because I’m not sure if I understand the way your thinking of doing it.