Simple multiplayer game example

I am a PhD student in computational/applied maths and pretty new to Meteor and web development in general (with good experience in Matlab and Python programming for mathematical modeling).

I am really fascinated by this learning process and I am trying to build an online experiment (multiplayer online game) to test a theoretical model that we developed. As I am going through the official guide and learning about best practices, I am struggling to find examples of multiplayer games with: 1) lobby; 2) synchronous multi round games; 3) exist survey; and at the same time 4) following the best practices suggested by the guide (or using Meteor 1.4+ in general).

I would highly appreciate if you guys could point out some examples for me to learn from.

1 Like

You can try for mini military or COC. This is multi round games. Hope you’ll enjoy it.

Can you please share with me the link of the project? I am looking for implemented examples to learn from them how to structure the project and how to perform some of the functionalities for a real-time game.

I think @SkyRooms has a multi-player online game / engine built on Meteor at StarCommanderOnline.com.

1 Like

Thanks @martineboh

I can answer this for you:

1) lobby;

Meteor

The idea of a lobby in Meteor doesn’t really exist by natural useage. I suppose if you were running multiple server instances because your CPU load was insane, as 10,000 players we online, you would split your servers up. This could be a “lobby”.

Of course, you can build this as part of your app because you want to, for what ever reason. Take a game like Counter Strike for example, it sets you up in a lobby, runs you through a game, and destroys the lobby. This is by design. But you can also technically do 10,000,000 connections and not need a lobby.

Meteor does NOT do peer to peer connections (although you could hybrid it, which I’ve attempted).

WebRTC